KITCHEN EXPERIMENT: RED VELVET PANCAKES

I haven’t shared anything food related on the blog in a while. The last recipe I tried and shared was the Chicken Jambalaya, long long ago in November 2011. 😮 I love to cook and try new recipes when I have the time.

Pancakes are a breakfast favourite at my house, and in the spirit of the season, I decided to make red velvet pancakes on Christmas morning. I pinned a Red-velvet pancake recipe to one of my boards months ago, and it was when I was thinking about the ways I could make Christmas day special, that I remembered it. Thank God for Pinterest! It’s a wonderful way to organise random stuff that interest you, things you might want to go back to.

On Christmas eve, I went out to get my ingredients, but couldn’t find cream cheese for the frosting- so I left that out. Here’s the recipe I tried/adapted:

Ingredients
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk, plus more for thinning (if needed)
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 tablespoon red food coloring
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • Additional butter for the skillet
  • Cream cheese frosting, for topping (recipe below)
  • Toasted chopped pecans, for topping
  • Warm maple syrup, for topping
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 200°F
  2. Add all purpose flour, baking soda, baking powder, sea salt, sugar and cocoa powder to a large bowl, whisking to combine and aerate. To a different larger bowl, add egg, buttermilk, sour cream, red food coloring and vanilla extract, whisking until smooth.
  3. Add the dry mixture to the wet mixture and whisk until just incorporated. Slowly stream in melted butter while whisking. Continue whisking just until all lumps are out. The batter should have a pourable consistency. If it is too thick, stir in a bit more buttermilk.
  4. Warm a large, nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add a small dab of butter to the skillet and swirl around until the surface is evenly coated. Use a paper towel to wipe away any excess butter. Ladle 1/4 cup of the batter on to the skillet. To form a nice, round pancake, pour the batter from the ladle on to one spot of the skillet. Do not move around your ladle. The batter will expand from that spot into a perfect circle.
  5. Flip the pancakes when you see bubbles forming on the top and the bottoms look set. Cook the pancakes for an additional minute or two until cooked all the way through. Keep the pancakes warm in the preheated oven until all batches are cooked.
  6. To serve, decorate your pancake with some cream cheese frosting. 

His pancakes-

source: KitchenKonfidence

source: KitchenKonfidence

What mine looked like 😦 –

x_x

x_x

They tasted great though- my people loved them, except my mom who said they were too synthetic (she only said that because the colour turned her off lol but yes, food presentation is as important as the taste, so this is something I need to work on). I thought about it, trying to figure out where I went wrong, and I concluded that it was probably because I added more colouring than the recipe required. The batter didn’t look as red as I wanted to be, so I added half a tablespoon more.

OKAY.

I did try again in a few days, this time remembering to add food colouring with caution. I still ended up with the same colour of pancakes, even darker! So it’s a reasonable conclusion that my Christmas day pancakes and these ones were looking really dark not because of the food colouring, but because of the way the cocoa powder interacted with the colouring. In fact, without the red, they’d probably be brown pancakes because the cocoa brown was really really present. Unlike Brandon’s, my batter was brown before I added the red colouring.

I’m definitely going to try a third time. Not soon (I’m at school and we aren’t allowed to cook) but before then, I hope to figure out how to make red velvet pancakes that look as good as they taste. Complete with the frosting too!

One thought on “KITCHEN EXPERIMENT: RED VELVET PANCAKES

You say?

