UNDERSTANDING HAIR 101: Introducing, ‘HAIR BASICS’!

Hey guys! How are you doing? What are you up to?

I’m still up to the same old same old- daily moisturise and seal. My regimen is still the same. I’m carrying my fro just the same.

after school one day

after school one day

I was supposed to be studying one evening but I got restless and I did one twist and ended up doing several more. No product, no comb, I just twisted without looking. Here’s what my study time yielded x_x

: )

: )

 

Some days, I’m like oh gosh I cannot wait to be able to style my hair- twist outs, braid outs, bantu knots, the whole shebang… but then I tell myself- wait, I think I can. More hair, more product, more problems I imagine. I’m not going to be restless, I’m going to enjoy this time and learn all I can.

Fundamentals are the building blocks of fun*

To get the hair I want, I think it only makes sense that I have a basic understanding of my hair first- what it really is, what it’s made of, how it functions – so that I can have a better plan, be truly informed about what it needs, how to work with it.

Over the next few weeks, I’m going to put up a series of posts called ‘Hair Basics’. Through these posts, I intend to introduce to you the structure and elementary features of hair. This knowledge will definitely guide you on your hair journey (as it is guiding me); help you choose products and determine your hair regimen. And hopefully after this, some of the natural hair lingo you’ve encountered or will encounter in conversations about hair will cease to be (or will not be) strange to you.

This may not seem like very fun stuff right now but it’s really really important stuff. I’ll try my very best to break it down, keep the posts short and keep the science relevant. If there’s anything I’m a little foggy about, do not hesitate to bring it up or point me in the right direction.

Stay with me okay?

x

* Mikhail Baryshnikov

3 thoughts on “UNDERSTANDING HAIR 101: Introducing, ‘HAIR BASICS’!

  1. Pingback: HAIR BASICS- HAIR TYPING! « AFRIKAN BUTTERFLY

You say?

