Hairspiration! : Ify

Aren’t we loving Fridays on the blog?! 😀 Today, we have our fourth featured Naturalista, Ify to end the month of May. Whooop!  If you missed the ones before, go meet them here! And if you’re in Abuja tomorrow, don’t forget, Capital Naturals 2 is happening at The Hut, Maitama. More info about the meet-up here. Everyone’s invited! You, your mama, your brother and your friend’s sister too! 

Hey, my name is Ify. I’m a student in the UK but I’m from Nigeria.

Ify hair 3

When did you go natural and how did you do it?

It did not take a lot of thinking… I just didn’t relax it after I left secondary school (we wore our hair short then)

Tell us about your hair

My hair is very coarse, average density, between 4A and 4C in different places. The length varies all around, but the front bit grows faster and longer than the rest… maybe 10 inches in some places.

flat-ironed

flat-ironed

How do you take care of your hair?

I’m definitely a less is more girl. I usually plan to co-wash and stretch out my hair weekly but most times, I do that ten days apart. I deep condition sometimes as well. My hair is not spoilt so it can go for a long time without pampering.

Ify Ez

Up!

How do you wear your hair?

Up! That’s not my favourite but it’s the only one that looks decent enough for me. I wear a curly wig most times and when I can, I braid my hair or put in a weave. Right now, I have a weave on and have my perimeter out which was probably a bad idea. It looks good though but my hair is suffering badly. 😦

in a bun

in a bun

My Natural Hair Journey

Well, nothing inspired me to begin the natural journey. I just knew I didn’t want to relax my hair and I like the look of natural hair. I think the only reactions I got were from the stylists in the salon that felt like my hair was too much trouble for them to handle. I have an awesome stylist now though (hi Marilyn!!!) and she takes care of my hair as well as she can.

Some months ago, I decided to straighten my hair at a salon and it was a horrible experience. They maltreated my hair and I lost so much of it that I don’t think I will be doing that again.

Ify hurr

Is there anything you’re struggling with at the moment? 

Oh where do I begin with the hair problems?! My hair suffers from everything you can think of and it gets frustrating at times but maybe when I get some more time on my hands I can try to see what I can do to help it.

Ify hair 5

Any last words to the person thinking about going natural or the new natural?

Make sure you find what works for you. Eat well because that’s the foundation for good hair!

—–

Thank you, Ify for sharing!

Are you inspired? Do you want to inspire someone else? Email: thekinkandi@gmail.com.

Till next time

Love,

AB

x

You say?

