Hairspiration! : Onyi

Hey, my name is Onyinye, but you can call me Onyi. I’m a freelance illustrator and manager of a small independent card and gift shop in central London. I live in London but I was born in Italy.

BJ_wHhsCcAApvrw

When did you go natural and how did you do it?

I went natural in my first month of University, after never having seen my natural hair, and having dyed and damaged my hair a few months before, one day I just asked my friend to cut off my blonde relaxed hair. It was very spontaneous, I was just curious to see how my hair was really like, I didn’t transition and I had no idea that there was a natural hair movement going on!

199188_208305422514173_2437769_n

Tell us about your hair

I think I have 4b/c hair; the curls are slightly looser on the back. My hair is not bra strap length. I’m slightly clueless about all the natural hair terms, I’m a simple girl…It’s just my hair really!

How do you take care of your hair?

So until about early this year I have had my hair in protective styles, braid or twist extensions, since February I vowed not to put extensions in for a year in order to see if my hair can grow. So far so good!

I deep-condition weekly, blow-dry and twist. I’m not a product junkie, I mostly use natural products as I know the won’t ruin/break my hair!

Shea butter, coconut oil, olive oil, almond oil, castor oil…the list is endless!

My hair does love water but I also have 80% shrinkage so its always a dilemma for me…

How do you wear your hair?

I usually wear an afro puff, easy and simple. I sometimes do twisted up dos or leave my fro out for a bit of a change!

298300_288655494479165_1043577325_n

What inspired you to go natural?

Curiosity inspired me to go natural, and my friend who has been natural all her life encouraged me to try it at least to see if I like it!

How were the initial reactions? Family, friends, random strangers?

My family wasn’t supportive at first, they said I looked unkempt and dirty, but after a while my mum started warming to the idea, she ended up keeping my sister’s hair natural and putting her own hair in dreadlocks last year!

548221_471230049555041_656531533_n

Have you received any negative comments about your hair? How did/do you deal?

I have received negative comments and snide remarks about my hair but I’m not too bothered, it’s the hair that grows from my scalp, it’s perfect the way it is, it’s not my problem if you don’t like it, because I do!

What do you love most about being natural?

Having natural hair has definitely made me happier about the way I look, the comfort that I’m still beautiful without chemicals on my hair and makeup on my face. I feel free!

58549_596758677002177_137723338_n

At present, what are your challenges?

Shrinkage is my main challenge, im so busy I don’t really read hair blogs or look for solutions, I guess I’m just embracing it!

Any hair goals?

Hair goals…I want to grow it beyond my bra strap by an inch or more by the end of the year! I think that’s realistic!

248210_230046340340081_6090084_n

Any last words to the person thinking about going natural or the new natural?

Natural hair is you, this is how it should have been since birth, embrace it!

Do you write a blog or have a twitter or instagram or any other social media you’d like people to connect with you on?

I’m an illustrator, you can find me on:

Twitter: @Onyinyedraws

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Onyinyedraws 

Tumblr: http://onyinyedraws.tumblr.com/

Instagram: onyinyedraws

My online shop is: http://www.etsy.com/shop/Onyinyedraws

Thank you Onyinye, for sharing!

Onyi is a talented artist, you really should have a look at her stuff! 🙂

If you’d like to share your kinks with us, be our natural hair inspiration one Friday, please email: thekinkandi@gmail.com. All lengths welcome!

Till next time,

Love,

AB

x

2 thoughts on “Hairspiration! : Onyi

You say?

