Love You.

Hey everyone!

Meet Nia: Nia is an African-American dancer and naturalista. She did the Big Chop on the 1st of July! *shakes Shekere* 😀

image(1)

Today, she shares with us, a poem she wrote:

image


I used to apologize for that dip in her back, but today; I’ll let her tell her story.
History, her story: the Black Dancer and Her Glory.
That dip describes a journey.
Her growth: a process, be it long. I could never be a straight line, and my tights fit never wrong.
I used to be embarrassed of that toasted praline shade. And the way my thighs fought amongst themselves sharing well worn fabric space.
My leotard told no lies.
Made each mound and hump protrude. I used to try and tuck them in
Hide my black girl attitude.
But oh!
Baby she’s back now. Home where she should’ve stayed. I’ll never send her away again.
I missed her smooth, voluptuous sway.
I tried to slick those tresses down, for hair and motion; gone with the wind.
But I gave it up; traded in that lye for a crown of bobby pins.
And this queen, eyes made of chocolate, sees beyond what eyes can see.
‘Cause she don’t need no sugar coated dream, brown sugar is always sweet.

-Nia.

Thank you so much Nia for sharing! 🙂

For many like Nia and myself, going back to the fro is more than just a hair journey, it’s also one step in life’s journey, as we figure ourselves out, on the road to self acceptance. Hair may be just hair, but loving the kinks does not come naturally to everyone. The kinks in our hair, the kinks in our lives… Loving and appreciating yourself, your body, your talents, is not always easy but as cliche as this may sound, it’s something we should not tire of saying to ourselves and to one another- Love Yourself! (feel free to insert any other way of expressing this thought)

Love, Love,

AB

x

P.S. I love it when I get blog mail so if you’ve got anything to ask or say or just share, do not hesitate to holler: thekinkandi@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Love You.

  1. I absolutely love this.

    Before I cut my hair, I never wore my real hair out. Some of my friends didn’t even know what my hair looked like. It was always in a weave or some other type of covering. I used to think I was unattractive, no, ugly with my real hair that just wouldn’t grow.

    I’d been reading about natural hair and taking care of it for a while. It made me realize that my hair was beautiful and with proper care would grow. I decided to stop relaxing my hair in August 2012.

    I wasn’t taking proper care of it at the time and then I put it in faux dreads till January. I was amazed at the growth and I fell in love with my natural texture. I had no intention of cutting my hair, but when I took out the dreads, I took one look at my damaged relaxed hair and asked the hairstylist to cut it off.

    It was the bravest thing I’d ever done. I felt liberated and I saw my face for the first time in a very different way. I saw that I was beautiful, without needing to hide behind anything.

    The point of this super long comment is that it’s not just hair, it’s a lot deeper. And my natural hair journey has healed my self-esteem in ways I didn’t think possible.

    We are all beautiful as we are made from heaven.

    Like

You say?

