Trend Alert! : Ombré Braids

Ombré was a really big hair trend with weaves in the year 2012. Do you remember?

Ombré (uhm-brei) hair refers to hair color fading from dark to light, or vice versa. Instead of the color starting from the roots, it gradually becomes lighter, or darker, towards the ends. The word “ombré” in French means shadow or shade.

-Urban Dictionary.

Ombré weaves seem to be a thing of the past now, but it appears that the trend lives on in- or should I say it is making a comeback with a different kind of extensions- the kanekalon kind.

At camp, I noticed several girls wearing their braids and twists ombré style. And they weren’t friends or anything. LOL. I’m just saying- in a random selection of say, 1000 females from across the country, I was able to notice, it’s definitely a trend. I dug Simon out from hiding, and we got a few photos. 🙂

DSC07406

DSC07415

DSC07417

DSC07403

DSC07404

DSC07405

I think it’s very pretty when done well, and it’s definitely a spin on the usual way to wear box braids and the like. I haven’t worn box braids since last year, and I may give it a shot soon.

I asked the ladies I photographed how they did it, and was told that the different do’s were done with two different colours of extensions.

You could also try achieving the look with some spray dye. NaturalistaNeff shows how in the video below:

What do you think? Would you try? Have I given you an idea for your Christmas hair? 😉

Till next time,

Love,

AB

xx

One thought on “Trend Alert! : Ombré Braids

You say?

