Tangle-Free Fro!

Remember when I wrote about Shrunken Fro?

The Afro is still my favourite way to wear my kinks but the knotty tangling that shrinkage brings was beginning to become a burden.

Combing my hair became a special occasion and I wore chunky twists so much that my dad suggested I got a perm lol.

I stumbled on light, easy to comb, run-your-fingers-through (almost), Tangle-Free Fro by accident. On my fourth day of rocking Tangle-Free Fro, I decided I was onto something and I thought I’d share.

HOW

One Saturday night, I did a mudwash. This is one of my favourite treatments because it’s an all-in-one deal. I LOVE mudwashes. So much I want to give everyone I love a mudwash! That good. If you’re too tired to follow your washday plans, just try a mudwash. It’s a time-saving cleanser, detangler and deep-conditioner all in a few simple steps. For how-to, go here.

So my hair was soft, awesomely conditioned and well detangled after my mudwash.

I applied a cocktail of Natural Nigerian Moisture & Shine Leave-In Conditioner and Taliah Waajid Curl Sealer.

DSC00106

The Curl Sealer describes itself as a light conditioning gel. I got a sample in a goodie bag I won from the Kinky Apothecary.

DSC00108

A proper review will come when I get a full size sample of this product and use it in different ways- so for now, tangle-free fro.

I’d planned to do a bantu knot out for church the next day.

My friend Lu did my bantu knots.

DSC00112

I wrapped up and went to sleep.

The next morning, I woke up 45 minutes late and in my rush, I decided to wear a turban instead.

Hours later, I unravelled the knots and twists and voila, I didn’t really have any curls to speak of LOL.

DSC00116

Maybe I should do more knots next time? But on the bright side, my hair was stretched.

So I combed out lightly, fluffed and patted le fro and I was good to go.

By nighttime, when I was chunky twisting my hair, I noticed that my hair was much much easier to do. It felt so light and finger detangling was a breeze.

At the end of the next day, hair was still light and not knotty! A little dry though, so as I twisted at night, I added just a little more of both products. This I repeated four more nights till I was out of product. As you can see from the size of the sample, considering the fact that I used it 5 times, clearly, a little goes a long way.

Here’s my conclusion:

Light leave-in + light gel = tangle free fro

Also, I moisturised at night and didn’t spritz water in the morning as I used to. In the mornings, my hair was soft and well moisturised and easy to comb- no water spritzes needed to refresh.

It was my first time working with any styling product or soft-hold gel, so I think I give the gel the credit for the lightness of tangle free fro. And I had a little less shrinkage than I normally would.

To test the theory, I carried on doing everything without the gel (moisturising & twisting at night, no moisture in the morning) and I had similar results but fro was definitely lighter, and remained more stretched out with the Curl Sealer.

Plus, I’ve observed I lose less hair when I comb my hair dry. Dry as in, soft dry well moisturised hair. More about this later.

For now, I’m keeping an eye on The Kinky Apothecary. Need to get Curl Sealer as soon as they restock. You are welcome to try my tangle free fro theory with any light soft hold gel though. Let me know how it goes 😉

Have you tried this Curl Sealer? How do you fight knots when you wear your fro loose? Holler!

Love,

AB

xx

6 thoughts on “Tangle-Free Fro!

  1. I love the fact that your hair seem to have this nice shine/sheen to it. Don’t know if its NN detangler leave in or the TW Curl Sealer causing this but I think it looks lovely. You make me want to buy the two now… but i have to finish up my existing products (product junkism)…. *sigh*.

    Like

You say?

