Henna Update (Second Month)

Hey guys!

I henna’d in April and May, and will continue to do so for at least the next four months.

This is a fairly long post, I hope I don’t lose you. To fully get this, you may need to see my first post on Henna. This post is only making notes about changes and observations I’ve made since first Henna. I wrote about my first henna treatment in detail, in this post here, ‘Henna Day’.

WHY HENNA?

I’m committing to henna because I hope to experience the following benefits I’ve read about:

  1. Stronger hair
  2. Shinier hair
  3. Silkier hair
  4. Red hair (yes, I want to be a red head so baddddddd) <- on black hair, henna gives red highlights- most visible under the sun or other lighting, but very dark hair otherwise. I reckon henna is a safe way to put some red in my hair even if it’s only for when the sun shines. If I like the results, I may stop eyeing hair dye every time I’m in the super market.

WHAT I DID DIFFERENTLY THIS TIME

I made changes to shorten henna time.

  1. I mixed my henna on Friday afternoon, at about 3 o’clock. This time, instead of green tea, I used hibiscus powder mixed with water. Hibiscus is said to help boost red tones in henna.
  2. I applied my henna on Friday night, just before I was ready for bed. I spritzed hair with water but it was mostly dry, so there was no drip-dripping.
  3. I wore an old tee to apply henna and wrapped my head with Clingfilm after application, just like before. Then I took off the tee, and leaving the neck of it around my head, and tying the sleeves behind my head, I managed to secure the tee as some sort of durag. Looking like a second hand alaye, I went to sleep.
  4. I woke up Saturday morning, and there were no henna stains on my sheets or pillowcase. Yay! And I realised I didn’t lay any newspapers on the ground. NO MESS! I’ve become a no-spill applier! LOL is that a thing?
  5. I rinsed the henna out (Lord, my water bill!) before 8:30am (I woke up at 7:30)
  6. Before application, as suggested by Simi + Temi of Those Natural African Curls, I added a puddle of my most slippery conditioner (Hello Hydration) to the mix, and my hair wasn’t dry after henna as it was the first time 🙂
  7. As my moisturising deep treatment this time, I added honey to the last of my Herbal Essences Hello Hydration conditioner (*sheds tear*) saturated my hair with it and wrapped again with clingfilm. I had breakfast, did the dishes, went to the ATM and then stopped at a salon to steam with it for about 30 minutes. The DC was in my hair for a total of 2 hours. I rinsed out, moisturised & sealed and Wash day was over before noon. Whoop! 🙂

I’ll be sticking to this overnight henna routine, thank you very much.

CHANGES IN MY HAIR?

Are We Red Yet?

I can’t say I’ve noticed any tangible changes in my hair colour. My hair was black and shiny after the whole thing. On black hair, henna is supposed to act as highlights, visible in the sun. But- my lone gray hair turned light gold after my first henna in April. I observed that after my May henna, it was left a very bright copper. It’s only a single strand, so I hope you can make it out here.

IMG_5142

Curling Differently?

Some say henna loosens curls (and so, you should be wary if your hair has very loose curls, you could lose them), but in 4C hair, I’ve also read that it doesn’t loosen our tight curls, it just encourages them to clump. We still have very tight spirals, the strands just clump together more, and this makes them appear to have more definition. I really don’t know, I’m being my own guinea pig.

After a bad hair day (failed twist out with flaxseed gel), I did a quick co-wash with Hello Hydration to reset my hair, and for the first time ever, I noticed this much curl definition.

IMG_4778

After I rinsed it out though, I was back to my super 4C glory.

IMG_4800

When I had my Hello Hydration & honey in to deep condition after my henna, hair was kind of curly, but still very shrunken so I don’t know what to make of this. Was it the henna? Was it the gel?

Since I started henna sha, I have noticed a general springiness in my coils when they’re fresh from a wash.

boing!

boing!

Before, I only used to notice coil popping after a mudwash.

Henna deposits itself permanently on hair, and with more applications, its effects become more visible. I think this is my last henna update for a while. My sixth henna treatment will be in September. After then, I’ll assess if/how my hair has changed, if henna is really worth the hassle, and whether I’ll keep it up.

I got more henna from Olori, so I have just enough for four henna treatments. I got Hibiscus powder from Kinky Apothecary for 500 naira only, and you can get that from Olori as well. If I run out though, I’ll be making my own. 🙂

Do you henna? How long have you been henna-ing? How different is your hair post-henna?

Love,

AB,

Xx

17 thoughts on “Henna Update (Second Month)

  1. Ám I the only one here who thinks your eyes are a-mayy-zeen?! The very first picture of you hair soaked in conditioner shows some curl definition…It’s be hard to take that your hair is really 4c.. I’d say it’s a mix because I’ve seen kinkier and coilier 4cs. Lol @ Boing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You hair makes henna look so good. I am more 4a than not so I don’t know how henna will affect my curls. But I love the healthy shine your hair has, I am soooooo tempted. Let me patiently wait for your last check in.
    Ps. I spy your lone copper strand 🙂

    Like

  3. I love henna and I need a touch up soon! I have grey sprinkles in my hair, so when I hennaed my hair it look so cool, like I had copper tinsel. Love it! I will continue to use it, especially being pregnant because it’s just a safer way to dye my hair 🙂

    Like

  4. girl more grease to your elbows o…remember when I commented that I found a place to buy henna and would be trying it soon? well “soon” is taking forever..lool. I will be checking your progress so I can follow your instructions when I finally try it. Your hair looks good 🙂

    Like

  5. As much as I love the way you always make these traetment look easy, I’m too lazy to try all these. I mean sleep with henna in my hair,I’m sure by the time its morning,I would have turned my bedsheet to another colour with so much staining. Keep it up girlfriend but I’ll be chilling for the time being. NB: your eyes are gorgeous #nohomo
    Please check out my blog mylifeasmoby.blogspot.com

    Like

  6. Boing! Lol
    I will be waiting on your last henna update. So much definition with the conditioner in.
    You make me want to break out my pinky-purple lippie.
    I see that copper strand. If I ever go grey, henna will be my best friend (Hellurr naija redhead grandma).

    Like

  7. I don’t henna (yet) but I’m keeping my eyes on those who do as a future possibility. Love how your hair looks and I caught that copper strand lol

    Like

  8. Reblogged this on The Brazen Goddess Lifestyle Blog and commented:
    Thank you “The Kink and I” for this awesome post on henna, I just did a treatment last week and my hair is now shinier, stronger and tinged with red after only my second application. I’m going to do another henna gloss treatment in two weeks, I love the benefits of doing them so close together. I love this blog!

    Like

  9. Aww thanks for the shout-out hun, glad that the HH worked for you. Now you make me want to get back into the henna thing, there’s so little time though. Hmmmmm, but this overnight method is looking like it might work out nicely so i think I’ll give it a go ;). If i wake up and my pillow and sheets are stained with henna i’m coming for you ooooo!! hahahaa.

    Simi

    X

    Like

  10. Your eyes are freaking awesome!!!! I love big eyes!! I have chinky eyes lol and my sister has great orbs of awesomesauce like you. Anyways, I’ve also been doing henna and I love it. I have a question. I live in Morocco and can’t find ANYTHING for my hair here (you can’t imagine the endless frustration) so I have a friend who lives in Abuja (I think) and she wants to send me a care package of goodies! However I am fairly new at this natural business (I’ve been doing fairly well if I do say so myself) and she’s Caucasian. Can you guys suggest some things that work well that she can buy there? I’d appreciate it forever and ever. Thanks!

    Like

  11. Pingback: Henna and Me: 6 Months Later | The Kink And I

You say?

