A Tuesday Afternoon at The Shrine

Hey guys,

This is not a hair post.

Tuesday was a good hair day for me, but beyond my twist out, it was also a really good day.

My friend L is around, and together we finally made it to the New Afrika Shrine. We’d both wanted to go for a long time, but she doesn’t live in Lagos, and for me- its been one thing after another. From the mall, we found our way to it on that Tuesday afternoon.

"The Secret of Life Is To Have No Fear". You hear?

“The Secret of Life Is To Have No Fear”. You hear?


For my non-Nigerian readers, Fela Anikulapo Kuti was a great man, a gifted musician and the father of Afrobeat music. (Not the “Afrobeats” genre a lot of Nigerian & Ghanaian music is grouped under these days.)

Abami Eda

Abami Eda

Fela died in 1997 at almost 59. He lived life on his own terms, and was a real problem for the authorities, because he dedicated himself to speaking the truth against the corruption and social inequality of the times. These problems are still as big and as crippling for Nigeria as they were in Fela’s time (even bigger sef), so Fela’s music, Fela’s message, is as relevant and inspiring today as it was then. He is as powerful a legend as Bob Marley.

To get to know the man, I’d like you to read one of my favourite books- Fela: This Bitch of a Life. If you’re in Nigeria, you can get it on Buyam (free shipping nationwide!), and if you’re outside the country, it’s available on Amazon.

The New Afrika Shrine was built by Femi & Yeni Kuti, two of Fela’s three children, after his death. People were there chilling, watching TV, eating, drinking, just vibing. We took a lot of photos lol- we weren’t shy to be tourists, and nobody minded us really. We got help with our photos, and we didn’t have to ask. Our informal tour guides were helpful too. 🙂

DSC09487

DSC09488

lol smh

lol smh

Mrs. Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti. Fela's mother, and an inspiring African woman

A drawing of Mrs. Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti. She was Fela’s mother, and a strong mama. She was the first Nigerian woman to drive a motorcycle, and later, a car. A fierce political activist, and fighter for women’s rights.

Please.

Please.

Real G

Real G

The Shrine. Fela's spirit is here.

The Shrine. Fela’s spirit is here.

A 2010 Newspaper. Fela saw through this BS in the 70s.

NO SMOKING.

Fela wore this to his last show, in 1997.

Fela wore this to his last show, in 1997.

Lu x Posters

???????????????????????????????

Amen.

Amen.

???????????????????????????????

“Long Live African Unity (When It Comes)”

???????????????????????????????

#Unlooking

#Unlooking

Baby Boy

Baby Boy

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

As we walked past this very spot on our way out, something hit me. I finally understand why it’s good to have children. Now, I have a reason, apart from the narcissistic desire to share the world with a mini-me. Fela was such a powerful force, but without his children, his legacy (especially in Nigeria) would have suffered. The people we’d normally dismiss as touts or useless, Fela cared about them. He housed and fed them. Where would they have been on that sunny Lagos afternoon? The Shrine remains a refuge for them. It’s really great what Fela’s kids are doing with what he left them, and I hope that in future, their offspring do the same. I hope we can also do this in our lives as well. By this I mean, be truly fruitful. And then multiply. Okay I’ve probably lost you now.

This is supposed to be like, the new pout. LOL

This is supposed to be like, the new pout. Or so I heard.

IMG_0934

Because we’re happy!

I’ll be back again, for the music. Both Fela’s sons, Femi Kuti and Seun Anikulapo Kuti play at The Shrine with their bands, when they’re not on world tours.

Have you seen ‘Finding Fela’? I think I’ll go see it next week.

Peace & Love,

AB,

xx

The New Afrika Shrine

1 NERDC Road, Agidingbi, Ikeja, Lagos.

New Afrika Shrine Facebook

 

Additional Reading:

Blog: New Afrika Shrine

ZODML Library: Mrs. Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti

Naija Treks Tour of The Shrine

 

For Your Listening Pleasure:

Fela Anikulapo Kuti- Yellow Fever

Femi Kuti- Truth Don Die

Seun Anikulapo-Kuti (Featured on Blitz the Ambassador’s track)- Make You No Forget

7 thoughts on “A Tuesday Afternoon at The Shrine

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE. I too, have been putting off a Shrine visit for the longest time. I can’t wait to see Finding Fela either.
    PS: You’ve become a twist out mama. Look at all that curl definition!

    Like

  2. Looks like you guys had a great time! Love the vibrancy just bursting out of these pics! I’d love to style a fashion shoot here, tsigh…I watched the Fela theatrical show that travelled round with my Ma. I wasnt actually familiar with his music (but I knew the name growing up at home) so the show was a great lesson for me on his music and life!

    Like

  3. I recently saw Finding Fela in NYC this summer. I also purchased tickets for my mom to see the play and she was amazed by his story, strength and artistry. He was definitely a revoluntionary and I am glad that his story was filnally shared with a broader audience.

    Like

You say?

