Introducing: Hey Emi!

Hey beauts!

I grew up somewhat a reader of children’s books – Enid Blyton is the name that immediately comes to mind when I think of children’s books and even animated adventure series. But you’d agree with me when I say I could not in any way relate to the characters in these books. Fair-skinned, straight and silky-haired, going on adventures in the mountains and the woods. A few years ago, though, I’ve stumbled on animations with black characters – mainly African – on youtube. Also, last week, while babysitting, one of the children wanted to watch Goldilocks and the three bears and I was super surprised to see that the version he had been watching had black characters with curly, coily hair, and Caribbean accents.

So, anyway, I was quite giddy to hear about Hey Emi!

Emi Cover ImageHey Emi is created by Tina Olajide, whose inspiration was borne from the lack of brown-skinned heroines for little girls to look up to. According to Tina, “Emi is a creative seven-year-old girl with a BIG imagination and in this book she describes all the cool and quirky things she likes most about her hair. From the shape and movement of her hair to detangling single strand knots, Emi’s unique point of view will put a smile on your face.

Emi Illustrations Page 2

How adorable is she?! And that hurr! I really like the illustration – kudos to the illustrator, Courtney Bernard.

To get your hands on this one-of-a-kind book for a little girl or boy you love and even for the little child inside of you, check out Amazon.com and Amazon Europe. Also, visit Emi’s website for up-to-date information, to sign up for newsletters and to ask her anything!

Emi Illustrations_Page 4

So, tell me, what do you guys think about Hey Emi!

Enjoy the weekend, beauts, and stay safe and jolly!

– Mee Mee

xx.

15 thoughts on “Introducing: Hey Emi!

  1. I’m totally in love with this. Maybe if some of us had read such books while growing up, we would have accepted our uniqueness earlier in life. My mum spent a fortune on Enid Blyton books sha, imagine what kind of intellectual orientation children would get and how much good writers could make if parents spent such colossal amounts patronizing Nigerian story books such as this? (which for me is up to international standard) Imagine non-African children reading this book, maybe it would help deal with racism. I love her full ebony curls and I must get this book for keeps ahead of my cutie pies. *winks*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Duchess Royale, thank you so much for your kind words. I think the advantage our generation (and those to come) has is the ability to create something and bring it directly to your audience, without needing the permission of a gatekeeper. Technology is levelling the playing field.

      Images, stories, history, culture etc. are so important in shaping how we see ourselves and our relationship with the world. If you live outside Africa and grow up in the diaspora or multi-cultural/multi-ethnic/multi-racial society the omission of your face in all forms of media tells you don’t exist, or aren’t important.

      These observations inspire me to write and create stories and images that reflect simple truths about who we are. I want to explore STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) and the arts through Emi’s eyes, because women and “people of colour” are currently underrepresented in these fields. Exposing girls and boys early on to endless possibilities is something I take seriously. If there is a spark, I want to ignite it into a flame!

      Like

You say?

