An Afternoon at Nature’s Gentle Touch Hair Institute

Hey y’all!

About a week ago (a week agoooo) I attended a meet and greet thing- media parley if you’re fancy- at the Nature’s Gentle Touch Hair Institute on Muri Okunola street in V/I.

If you’re Nigerian, you’ve probably been aware of this brand for a really long time. Nature’s Gentle Touch is what they call a personal style brand, from Recare Limited. Recare manufactures in Nigeria and South Africa, and have been on the continent for a while. As a relaxer company, I feel like their main focus or main demographic of people who use their products is women with relaxed hair they have a brand for the man dem too, it’s called Nonstop.

I did not know what to expect, it was my first time at a “media parley.”

There were 4 guys and the rest of us were women, about 20-something people in total. Most of the people present were journalists from newspapers and magazines, and then a quarter of us write blogs.

The point of the event was to (re)introduce the brand to the media, and I like how it went.

First was the ice-breaking led by their PR manager, Mrs Toyin Adepegba. Everyone had to stand up, say their name and describe their personal style in one word.

IMG_5565

The CEO Mr Ramesh Hullum talked about the brand generally from a marketing point- and after this, the Field Educational Manager, Mr Daniel Komlan spoke about “Ethnic Hair and Its Challenges”. Most of the other attendees were press people, just doing their jobs, but I have a good feeling that reached them personally, because he spoke specifically about common problems the women admitted to struggling with, and he tried to break it down- structure of hair, regimen building, all that. Altogether, a good talk. I didn’t agree with some things that were said, but then again, it wasn’t a hair meet-up. *Kanye shrug*

Finally, the Operations Manager, Mr. Daniel Anim-Appiah introduced the products. They talked about their customer care policy, and on this front, they look really good. For a brand that has been here for so long, it’s great that they are investing in  the country by manufacturing here and also training beauticians at the Institute.If you’re dissatisfied with a certain product, you could call them and they’ll replace it, or they could invite you to their salon, and apply it to your hair the right way, their words. They also said that their products are designed to tackle specific problems and are best bought as systems. Like, don’t just buy the shampoo from the Anti-Breakage line, get all four products. Marketing gimmick? I don’t know, I’ve never used their products before. But this is what was said and they sounded alright, very confident, ready to please.

Slightly unrelated, and I know this is something most people don’t care about but, I have a problem with that word “Ethnic” especially when it’s used in relation to black people, hair or culture. Generally speaking, if you have to fill out your Ethnicity on a form, the options are usually Black, White, Asian, etc. I don’t know why black things, black hair and such should be referred to as Ethnic, especially not in Africa. For the purpose of drawing a distinction between our hair and other hair, I believe African Hair is just fine. I know I’m one of few people who are bothered by things like this so I didn’t bother bringing it up. 🙂

Before your hair is done at the Institute, you have to see a consultant first. As part of the programme, I volunteered to have my hair looked at by Deola, the consultant. It was nice, and there was a mini scanning machine that amplifies your scalp and hair strands. That was really cool.

During the scan

During the scan

She checked my hair for density, strand thickness, porosity and tested for elasticity too. According to the results, my strands are medium thickness, normal porosity, 2/3 in elasticity and overall medium density. Super interesting because I’ve always felt I had low porosity, fine strands (they are way thinner than thread) and medium-high density. She also asked me questions about my regimen, last manipulative style, and also lifestyle questions.

Final diagnosis was Healthy Hair (Yay!) She also confirmed that my ends are raggedy with some splits, and advised me to get a trim, which I definitely will. I have been wanting a trim for a while now. Clearly, dusting is just not enough. My procrastination is not going to get in the way this time, because I got a free salon appointment at the Institute, to do anything I want. ^.^

Supermodel Oluchi has been the face of the brand for years.

Supermodel Oluchi has been the face of the brand for years.

We all got free appointment cards in our goody bags, and Hair products too. In my bag, I had the Herbal blend trio- Shampoo, Conditioner and Cholesterol Deep Conditioning
Treatment.

Freebies!

Freebies!

The Ingredients aren’t great (sulfates, mineral oil) “Herbalblend” not at all herbal but I’m definitely going to try them at least once, so you lot just wait and see.

I’m going to redeem my free appointment soon, this trim is much needed. I’ll let you guys know how my salon day with Nature’s Gentle Touch goes.

All in all, it was a good way to spend a few hours 🙂

Has your mane ever experienced Nature’s Gentle Touch? At the institute’s salon or their products? What’s your personal style in one word? Let’s talk in the comments!

Love,

AB,

xx

——

Nature’s Gentle Touch Hair Institute,

209 Muri Okunola Street,

Victoria Island, Lagos.

Phone: 01 462 7442

8 thoughts on “An Afternoon at Nature’s Gentle Touch Hair Institute

  1. I’m not really bothered by the word ‘ethnic’ but I totally relate to your point of it being used to describe our hair. I have also never used any of Natures Gentle Touch products but I think I’ve seen them somewhere. Maybe I’ll give it a try someday…who knows. As for my personal style, I always go for what is flattering and comfortable. You didn’t mention yours in the post.

    Like

  2. I absolutely despise the way the word ethnic is thrown about. For one thing, it makes it seem as if whites don’t belong to various ethnic groups as well. Even though EVERYBODY is ethnic! Whether you be circassian, serb or Yoruba.
    For another thing, why would we be using that term in Nigeria to describe our own hair? Na wa o.

    Like

  3. I’ve used Nature’s gentle touch deep conditioner and my hair didn’t really feel “conditioned” as such. I think its meant for relaxed hair and maybe it’s cos my hair is natural. their leave in conditioner is not so bad but the ingredients.. nehh.

    Like

  4. I really don’t see why the word ethnicity should be used to describe our hair at all. Sometimes hair type has nothing to do with your ethnicity. I too don’t believe we have to segregated into ethnicity just because we are black especially not in my own country ( lol I get all heated and political about this!!) . I also don’t like their ingredients at all its really full of chemicals that’s shouldn’t be anywhere near the hair or skin ( but that’s just my opinion).

    Like

  5. Ooo a hair scan, fancy! I want one *spoilt little girl face*
    I wouldn’t say I’m bothered by the use of the word ethnic, but I think it’s absolutely unnecessary in my own country where my hair texture is the norm. Like, kindly classify someplace else.
    I’ll be waiting to read your review, love those- but those ingredients… they will never smell my bory.

    Like

  6. I’ve heard they’re pretty good with relaxed hair.
    Their products scare me tho, so so petrolatum and mineral oil. I’ll be waiting for your review.

    Like

  7. Pingback: New Additions: AB’s Haul | The Kink And I

You say?

