Hairspiration!: Bids

Hey beauts! I am always excited for Hairspiration Fridays! I don’t know about you guys but I really enjoy looking a pictures of women with gorgeous hair. Knowing a little bit of their hairstory is of course an added bonus that hairspiration offers. Today, we have Bids, a lawyer-by-day-blogger-by-night Nigerian-born Londoner whose hair is named Grace. Enjoy! image1

When did you start blogging?

I started my blog (www.bidsingraceland.com) in February 2013 when my family convinced me to stop boring them with hair tales and put them down in a blog. Ha!

How long have you worn your hair natural?

My big chop was in January 2010 so over 5 years now. image4

Are you a less-is-more girl with your hair or do you go all out?

Ooh that’s hard. When I first went natural, for sure I went all out! Only the best products and all my time for Grace. Now, I still believe in using the best products but rather than using 6 million different components just for a leave in condition, I have tried to streamline my products and regimen to keep it as simple as possible and so far it has worked fine for me.

Shrinkage- do you fight it or embrace it?

Depends on my mood, but I embrace it most of the time.

What’s your regimen like?

On Washday – I start with a pre-poo treatment, some conditioner (using Tresemme Naturals Nourishing Moisture) mixed with some Amla oil and leave that in for about an hour. After that I wash my hair with Body Shop’s Ginger Anti Dandruff shampoo and deep condition afterwards with Shea Moisture’s Tahitian Noni and Monoi Hair Masque. After rinsing my hair thoroughly, I use Giovanni direct leave in and seal with Castor oil. Then I style with Cantu Shea Butter Coconut Curling Cream or Design Essentials Natural Stretching Crème. Morning routine – I spray my hair with a moisture mist from Shea Moisture and then seal with a small amount of argan or coconut oil before styling. Night time routine – Same as my morning routine but after sealing the moisture in with oil, I put on a satin cap and go to bed. Just freestyling

Go-to hair style?

Goddess braid. Literally takes me 5 minutes to do in the morning and it looks so chic.

Could you share some tips for travelling with natural hair?

Try a protective style like braids or mini twists for your trip (especially if there’s going to be activities like swimming involved) and invest in travel sized hair products.

The one thing no woman should ever skip?

Ensure you pre-poo or deep condition your hair regularly. It makes a world of difference to the softness, moisture content and general health of your coils. IMG_0285

2 absolute hair DON’TS?

Do NOT comb your hair when dry and certainly NOT with a rat tail comb. Just no!

If you had one hair regret, it would be…

Not going natural sooner. IMG_0377

2 things your hair cannot do without?

My Body Shop Ginger Anti-Dandruff shampoo (love this cleanser, it’s so gentle but effective!) and my wide tooth comb!

Share your favourite styling secret?

Pinned up twists or a goddess braid give that elegant chic look for the work week. A big voluminous fro does wonders for an outfit/look – you could be wearing a plain white tee and jeans and your fro will elevate that look from basic to fabulous!

IMG_0679 Greatest discovery of your hair journey that totally changed your hair game?

Definition is not the end of the world. I realised that when I took down my twists for a twist-out and there was no curl on my head. Just fro, kinky fro. It was big, it was wild and I realised I loved it! And so did everyone else at the party I went to that night.

Any hair challenges or bad habits you’re trying to break?

Getting impatient with my hair and forgetting to moisturise my hair and look after it whilst it’s tucked away in a protective style like braids. I get so lazy with braids!

You have a blog. Where can we find and stalk you on the interwebs?

Instagram – @BidsinGraceland http://Instagram.com/bidsingraceland
Twitter – @BidsinGraceland http://twitter.com/bidsingraceland
IMG_20141130_151328
Thank you so much, Bids, for sharing Grace with us! It’s summertime! At least I am willing it to be completely summer weatherwise. What plans do you have for your hair this summer? I think I will be installing yarn twists (grey & black). I’ll share with you guys when I eventually get through with that!
Have a brilliant weekend, beauts!
– MeeMee
   xx.
11 thoughts on “Hairspiration!: Bids

  1. Ladies thank you so so so much for all your kind words – Grace and I are pretty chuffed 🙂 a special thanks to Ekene and MeeMee for this feature! xxx

    Like

You say?

