The Natural Hair Industry Convention 2015

Screenshot_2015-10-29-14-38-16-1

Such a serious name, for what promises to be seriously educative, seriously fun, and seriously worth shlepping over to Maryland on Sunday, Nov 1, 2015.  It is a shame for me to say this, but I have been to a total of ONE hair meet-up. However, in recent months, I have been itching to educate myself more about this industry that we are immersed in, just by being; this industry that AB and I are so interested in. What better way for me to show my zeal than to go all out and be a part of this convention!

According to Mintel, as at 2012, the black hair industry was worth $684 Million! Did you see those numbers? MILLION! And it is anticipated that by 2017, this figure will rise to $761 Million. Side note: It is so fascinating to me when I walk into a local beauty store to find that it is run by Asians. With the rapid move and consciousness to natural hair and natural hair care, this industry is growing even more and dare I say that there is room for interested parties to pick their niches.

I am looking forward to hearing the big players in the industry speak and best believe that I shall be reporting back to you in detail. The line up of speakers include Diane Bailey of Shea Moisture, Essence China, Sabrina Boissiere, Tanya Wright (she plays Laverne Cox’s wife, Crystal, in orange is the new black!), and more!

There are only so many ways that I can express how truly excited I am to be able to attend NHIC 2015. Heck, I’m setting out at 3am to make this event! I shall definitely keep you posted and if you will be in the Baltimore area and have the money to spare, you should check this out!

– MeeMee

xx.

One thought on “The Natural Hair Industry Convention 2015

You say?

