Product Review: Brazen Curls, The Entire Line!

natural hair products- midas naturals- brazen curls

Hey, hey, hey guys!

Back in 2013, I got some products from Midas Naturals. I loved the healthy butter in particular, and I reviewed it here.

As the saying goes, the only thing that is constant in life is change, and since then, the brand has been through some changes. Currently, they have a new line of products- Brazen Curls, and they sent it to me towards the end of last year to review. I have used them, and so has MeeMee, so, here I am with our unbiased views on the products.

This is not a sponsored post. Though made in the UK, Midas Naturals is owned by a Nigerian woman, so it gives us great joy that these products are quality stuff, and we definitely think you should know about them.

The line consists of 5 products:

  1. Kiwi Moisturising Shampoo. N5,900
  2. Kiwi Restorative Deep Conditioner N7,980
  3. Kiwi Moisture Rich Hair & Body Butter N6,700
  4. Kiwi Crème Leave-In Conditioner N5,900
  5. Nourish & Grow Elixir N5,310

DSC02657

First Impressions:

These products are cute. Sure, looks may be deceiving, but I have high expectations of well packaged products. Beyond the labelling and branding, I think the containers are functional. The deep conditioner and the hair butter come in tubs. The shampoo and leave-in come in slim bottles with nozzle caps, and the oil comes in a bottle I’m going to keep after the product has finished. Remember this post from MeeMee about product packaging? The oil bottle has a pump you can push to release product. Makes more sense to me, abeg. I don’t like dealing with more oil than is necessary, and this really helps.

They have a light scent- nothing too distinct, but it’s pleasant. I assume it’s a kiwi fragrance since everything is kiwi- kiwi- but I’ve actually never eaten kiwi fruit before so I don’t know for sure.

These products are silicone free, sulphate free, paraben free and mineral oil free. They also have yummy ingredients, as you will see.

Before We Proceed…

My hair is kinky, tightly coiled 4C, low porosity hair. I had no issues with my hair before using this product, it was already in good shape, as in, I wasn’t battling with anything in particular. What works for me may not work for you, this is just an account of MY experience with these products.

KIWI MOISTURE RICH HAIR & BODY BUTTER

Ingredients:

Aqua (Deionised water), Shea oil, Babassu seed oil, Camellia seed oil, Kiwiseed oil, Glyceryl stearate SE, Cetearyl olivate (and) Sorbitan olivate, Hydrolysed silk, Panthenol, Behentrimonium methosulphate (and) cetyl alcohol and (butylene glycol), Stearyl dihydroxypropyldimonium oligosaccharides, Pomegrenate oil, Rose hip oil, Stearic acid, Cetyl alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylexylglycerin, Fragrance oil.

This butter is my fave! Absolute fave. Midas Naturals products are handmade, do you know? While I like everything on this line, the butter stands out for me, it is the best thing.

For a few weeks, I used it on my skin. It is of a perfect consistency. Light, not too oily.midas naturals- hair butter- brazen curls- consistency

I used it to twist my hair a few times, and the twist outs were bae.  And they were SOFT.

twist out- natural hair- 4c hair

my chunky braidout at NITC 13, a couple of hours old.

More than the twist out results, is how nice this butter makes my hair feel. Twisting or braiding my hair with this after washing or even when dry, leaves my hair feeling really good and my strands are super smooth. I don’t have a microscope but I think it means my cuticles were flattened, as in, super conditioned. Very smooth, and soft, it’s a very good feeling!

If you need a good sealant that doubles as a great twisting product, this is it.

KIWI MOISTURISING SHAMPOO

Ingredients:

Aqua (Deionised water), Carpryl/carprylyl glucoside, Cocomidopropyl betaine, Glycerin, Sodium benzoate (and) Potassium sorbate, Hydrolysed wheat protein, Xanthan gum, Citric acid, Phenoxyethanol, Aloe vera leaf powder, Kiwiseed oil.

If you’ve been around here long enough, you know that I don’t really care much for shampoo. All I ask of a shampoo is that it cleans my hair and it doesn’t dry me out. This shampoo lathers lightly- not much (it’s sulphate free) but it’s not entirely suds-free.

It cleansed my hair and scalp without leaving my hair dry. Score.

KIWI RESTORATIVE DEEP CONDITIONER

DSC02652

Ingredients:

Aqua (Deionised water), Behentrimonium methosulphate (and) cetyl alcohol (and) butylene glycol, Babassu seed oil, Baobab seed oil, Hydroxypropltrimonium honey, Avocado oil, Aqua (and) glycerin (and) Bamboo shoot extract (and) Sodium benzoate (and) Potassium sorbate, Hydrolyzed milk protein, Centrimonium chloride, Kiwiseed oil, Cetearyl alcohol, Hydrolysed corn protein (and) Hydrolyzed wheat protein (and) Hydrolyzed soy protein, Panthenol, Nettle extract (and) Horsetail extract (and) Sage extract (and) Lavender flower extract (and) Sweet Almond Oil, Cetyl alcohol, Glycerin, Sorbitol, Glyceryl stearate SE, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylexylglycerin, Ceteareth-20, Fragrance oil.

This DC is thick and very creamy. It’s a mild protein treatment, so if you are really protein sensitive, you may be a little wary of this. My hair can be weird about protein, and it was fine. I think this is because though it has proteins (highlighted in red), it also has many humectants, fatty alcohols and softening ingredients (highlighted blue) so I think you should be okay. Being a protein treatment, it’s great for strengthening weak, brittle hair.

I wasn’t dealing with weak, brittle hair, so I cannot attest to my hair feeling stronger. However, I applied it to my hair (because of how creamy it is, a little goes a long way), detangled and wore a plastic cap for about an hour. After washing, my hair felt really good, and really soft.

With some conditioners, my hair can feel dry before I’m done twisting after a wash, but this was not the case with this product.

KIWI CRÈME LEAVE-IN CONDITIONER

Ingredients:

Aqua (Deionised water), Behentrimonium methosulphate (and) cetyl alcohol and (butylene glycol), Kiwiseed oil, Camellia oil, Bamboo shoot extract (and) Sodium benzoate (and) Potassium sorbate, Watermelon oil, Aloe Vera Butter, Hydrolyzed Silk, Stearyl dihydroxypropyldimonium oligosaccharides, Glycerin, Sweet Almond Oil (and) Nettle extract (and) Horsetail extract (and) Sage extract (and) Lavender flower extract, Cetyl alcohol, Panthenol, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylexylglycerin, Fragrance oil.

Slip, check.

Water-based, Moisture, check.

Again, that “smooth” feeling!

Not the best leave in I’ve met in my life, but it’s good stuff.

NOURISH & GROW ELIXIR

Ingredients:

Peach kernel oil, Sweet almond oil, Fractionated coconut oil, Avocado oil, Baobab oil, Watermelon oil, Shea oil, Camellia oil, Kiwiseed oil, Pomegrenate oil, Rosemary essential oil.

I mainly use this oil on my scalp. I only started to use it to seal when I realized I had almost used up all the butter haha. It’s a blend of lightweight oils, and it’s a good sealant. As I said earlier, I love the pump function. It makes sure I don’t use too much. It can also be used as a hot oil treatment. Kemi Lewis likes it as such, but I personally haven’t tried. I haven’t done a hot oil treatment in ages, so maybe after I take out my braids. You’ll hear how that goes in the Washday post when that happens.

A word of caution, please.

Pregnant women are warned against using Rosemary essential oil. Though it’s the very last ingredient on the list, you are still advised to stay away from this elixir if you are pregnant. I confirmed this from Somi, Madam Brazen Curls herself. She didn’t use it while pregnant, and so she would not advise you to either!

ALTOGETHER,

In sum, this is a great line from Midas Naturals/ Brazen Curls. The products are waterbased, and full of humectants, with super softening agents like BMTS & fatty alcohols. I really like it.

Though on the pricey side, the ingredients are very worth it in my opinion. Awon pomegranate oil, kiwi, babassu and co, they are NOT cheap. I mean, I’ve seen some expensive high-end natural hair brands whose ingredients are pretty basic. I don’t want to call no names, ahem.

I like the entire line, though the butter is my most favourite. I brought them for MeeMee to use while she was in Nigeria and to paraphrase her, while she didn’t feel anything instantly during her washday, she felt the effects for days after- until she got braids. Moisture on fleek. Plus that smoothness, it’s a very nice feeling I hope you experience on your journey.

If these products could work so well during the harmattan season, I have no doubt that they’d even be better in more humid times of the year.

Harmattan is the driest time of the year in this part of the world. Very little humidity, the air is dry, and dusty, and for people like me, full of allergies. It also tends to be a very weird time for hair. Because of the low humidity, twist outs and presses tend to last, but it’s very hard to impart and retain moisture. At the slightest feeling of HAR- I don’t even wait for the word to complete lol, I go and protective style. But we had a mini photoshoot planned at the end of the year, and it was for this reason that I did not go get braids as it would have been a waste of money. I felt, you know, that maybe harmattan wasn’t so bad, because of how fleeky my hair was, but now that I’m in braids and I have to contend with this dryness at the base, spritzing with water and stuff, I now understand that my hair was great because of the products I was using.

So, thank you Brazen Curls for making my harmattan bearable. Rachel of Beautifully Nappy feels the same way about her Brazen Curls, so maybe I’m right and this isn’t just conjecture.

WOULD I REPURCHASE?

In theory, yes.

I have no complaints about this line. I think it’s good value, for the money. I really recommend it. But to be honest, between *my* budget and the fact that I tend to be very heavy handed with products + I am not the type to commit to using an entire line… I’m really not there yet. I’m still here for the basic brands as long as their prices agree. Not going to buy your basic stuff for big money, NO.

But hear this, I will be replacing the lovely butter in a bit! It is a proud honoree in my personal hall of fame of favourite products everrrrrr.

On the flip side, as a cash madam (help me hail her, lol) MeeMee has ordered the whole line. Whoop!

WHERE TO FIND

Brazencurls.com (They deliver in Nigeria, and internationally)

Beautifully Nappy (Nigeria only)

This has been a super long post, and you are the real MVP for staying till the end! :*

If you have tried any of these products, as always, you are welcome to share your experience in the comments (good or bad) 🙂 If you will or will not be trying Brazen Curls, also share why!

——-

Keep Up With Us!

Instagram: thekinkandi | Snapchat: thekinkandi | Twitter: @thekinkandixx | Facebook: /thekinkandi

Love,

AB,

xx

15 thoughts on “Product Review: Brazen Curls, The Entire Line!

    • Hey girl. So neither of us have tried sisterlocs. We can recommend some reviews that we have found to be informative to us but we do not have anything personal to contribute.

      Like

  1. Seems like a good product line. I loved Midas Naturals whipped butter. But like you said, this is pretty pricey. Since it’s made in the UK, and with the crashing Naira, I can understand the prices. That being said, I don’t know that the average naturalista in Nigeria would be willing to part with that much cash at a go – maybe one product here and there.

    But still, YES to high-quality ingredients!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Product Review: Brazen Curls Kiwi moistursing shampoo

  3. Meemee cash money, young money, mo money!
    If I were asthmatic I might have dramatically reached for my inhaler the first time I saw 8k for (how many oz sef) DC.
    But the ingredients♡
    With my whole natural-organic product life, most brands don’t cone cheap and this has good reviews so on a balling day I could pick up the butter. Or the DC since those are my actual weakness.
    I’m proud this is a Nigerian brand.

    Naija girl next door

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks girl 🙂 I used the butter on my body for like 3 weeks :O because I was out of lotion and too lazy/forgetful to replace it immediately. So, I can say that I used most of it on my body- a fair amount on hair, but I “wasted” it on my body so I don’t know how long exactly. I still have some left. When I replace though, I’d use strictly as a hair butter but if I have to travel or sleepover, I’d reduce my load and let it serve its double purpose.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hmmmmm sounds nice but pricey! And I have pleeenty hair so I’m into the whole more bang for your buck kinda thing. Would probably try the oil though sounds decadent! Nice review thumbs up!

    Like

You say?

