Hairspiration!: Synethia

Have you missed Friday Hairspiration? I have! Well, we’re back this Friday, with a twist! This Friday, the beautiful Synethia lets us drool over her gorgeous locs! Enjoy!

Hey, my name is Synethia a.k.a Jungle Barbie. I am originally from Jamaica but I currently reside in Los Angeles, California.

Photo on 2013-08-04 at 17.29 #5

Have you always been natural?

No. During my adolescent and teenage years my mother permed, straightened and jheri curled my hair but when I got to college I started my natural hair/lock journey.

Tell us about your hair

My hair is locked and I would say it’s fairly long.

Photo on 2013-06-26 at 18.29 #4

Are you a less is more girl or a product junkie?

NO I am not a product junkie. I love sticking with core products and try out a few here and there.

What are your staple products?

Natural Oils, Dr. Bonners Shampoo (Tea Tree & Peppermint etc), Homemade conditioners, Suave Coconut Conditioner and ORS Lock and Twist Gel, Macadamia Deep Repairing Masque.

Photo on 2013-08-08 at 16.58 #3

What’s your hair regimen like?

I usually wash my hair anywhere from 2 weeks to a month depending on the season as well as the condition of my hair. I also oil/moisturize my hair as needs be. I love to do a deep conditioning and or hot oil treatment every time I wash my hair. From time to time, I palm roll and retwist. And I interlock once a year.

I always tie my hair and I make sure I do not pull my hair too tight.

Photo on 2013-08-27 at 12.58

Anything in particular your hair cannot do without?

ORS Lock and Twist Gel, Crème of Nature Perfect Edges and Natural oils.

Do you have a favourite hairstyle?

I don’t have one but if I have to choose it would definitely be an intricate up do with or without a sweeping bang.

Photo on 2013-07-26 at 17.09 #5

How do you wear your hair to work? Do you think it hinders you in the work place?

I change my hairstyles daily and have no problems at work. I usually get lots of compliments and enquiries.

Protective styling?

Plaits or twists or Coils

What inspired you to go natural and to get locs?

I was so tired of my hair damaged from a perm and/or Jheri Curls AND I hate sitting under the dryer. Most times I was not pleased with the service and to me it was a waste of money. I battled with my decision of getting locks because of the stereotypes and the way people looked down on lock wearers. I sat and thought to myself, why not LOCKS? Maybe you could contribute to the way people respond to the style and that’s when I started my journey. I also wanted to fulfil one of my many dreams of showing that locks are CHIC and VERSATILE.

Photo on 2013-03-11 at 20.35 #6

How did your people react initially? How did you adapt?

My mother was not supportive at first because of the stereotypes associated with locks. I remembered her words clearly “I don’t know what you are going to tell your father” “You know how people look on people who wear locks”. When my dad came, he told me that it was the best thing I could have done with my hair. I just smiled and it was when my dad and I sat down talking about it that she warmed up and accepted my decision.

At the work place I was not accepted kindly. My job was threatened because I refused to cut my locks. I stood up and fought which led to a change in their employment policy. They now accept lock wearers and naturalistas.

My job was threatened because I refused to cut my locks. I stood up and fought which led to a change in their employment policy. They now accept lock wearers and naturalistas.

Do you receive any negative comments about your hair? How do you deal?

No, I have never gotten any negative comments but I have gotten lots of uneducated questions and comments as well as the stereotypical comments and questions. (How do you wash your hair? Do you smoke weed? Etc). I usually seize the moment and teach people about locks because I realize that the lack of exposure makes all these questions arise.

Photo on 2013-08-07 at 21.47

What is your hair to you?

My hair is very important to me because it represents a struggle that all people who wear locks face. It is because of this I use my hair as a way to show people that locks are as versatile and chic as any other hairstyle there is.

What do you love the most about having your locks?

The size, neatness and their versatility.

Photo on 2013-03-27 at 20.59 #4

At present, what are your lock challenges?

I occasionally suffer from dryness especially during the colder months.

Do you have any hair goals?

Not at the present. I’m taking it one day at a time.

Photo on 2013-04-17 at 17.12 #2

Any last words to the person thinking about getting locks or going natural?

If you want to get locks I would say, go for it! It is the best decision I’ve ever made for my hair. Don’t listen to the stereotypes, locks are chic and can be styled, just have a look at my blog and Youtube Channel.

Do you write a blog or have a twitter or instagram or any other social media you’d like people to connect with you on?

I blog: http://junglebarbie.blogspot.com

I have a Facebook page and I’m also on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/junglebarbie

Follow me on twitter: @junglebarbie1 and on Instagram- JungleBarbie1

Truly inspiring!

When If I eventually get locs, Syn is definitely one of the reasons why. Ever so often, I drift over to her blog for a few seconds of life.

If you’d like to be our Hairspiration sometime, don’t be shy, please email thekinkandi@gmail.com. ^_^

Till next time,

Love,

AB

xx

10 thoughts on “Hairspiration!: Synethia

  1. I LOVE how neat her hair is, everything in place. And her updos are so pretty. I wonder why any workplace would be opposed to this. I think I want dreadlocks now.

    Like

  2. OMGoodness – THIS is why I want to loc my hair. So pretty, versatile and neat. For now, I would miss my fro too much though.

    It’s crazy that her job was in danger but unfortunately I was not surprised. I have friends in finance who were worried about even going natural for that reason. And these are people in areas heavily populated by black people. But GO YOU! I’m glad it worked out.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Going Back To Natural? Let’s Go! | The Kink And I

You say?