Spotted! : Chimamanda in Kiko!

Last Saturday, 19th October 2013, one of my favourite writers, the Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie was at the 57th BFI London Film Festival- for the English premiere of ‘Half of A Yellow Sun’, a movie adapted by Biyi Bandele from her awesome bestselling novel, of the same title!

I’ve been a silent admirer of threaded hairstyles (what is called in these South Western parts as Irun Kiko) since I saw these photos from a shoot by Yvonne Vixen Ekwere last year. You can go see them here.

So imagine my surprise and delight to see Chimamanda on the red carpet with thread! Maybe not so very surprised because duh, it’s Chimamanda. I don’t think I could possibly love this woman any more.

I think she’s working it! I think the hair belongs on the red carpet alongside everything she’s wearing. Love it!

The original article & more pictures from Bella Naija here. and Brittle Paper here. Thanks for sending me the link, Alheri!! 🙂

Over to you guys. What are your thoughts?

xx

11 thoughts on “Spotted! : Chimamanda in Kiko!

  1. Oh wow. I thought Kiko might be the name of a designer. I was not expecting this at all. Adichie is a brave one. I think I understand the regal concept she was going for- it looks a bit like a crown- and she somehow manages to pull it off, but she has definitely looked better.
    That being said, I’m excited that threading is making a comeback. I look forward to seeing more wearable ways of rocking this hairstyle.

    Like

  2. I like it on her as she can pull it off. My mum used to thread my hair when I was little and it really stretched my hair. The styles I wore were the flat versions of this style, not sticking up but all joined together flat against my scalp. I was the only Naija girl in my glass so all the other kids were curious and used to touch my hair but I wasn’t too offended. I quite liked the attention 🙂

    Like

You say?